Marine Managament Organisation (MMO) Marine Planning Engagement Events Spring 2018

  • Published: 7th December 2017
  • Category: Briefings
  • Committee: Safety & Environment

The Marine Planning Department of the Marine Management Organisation (MMO) has announced that in February and March next year they will be engaging on the draft visions and options for upcoming marine plans in the north east, north west, south east and south west (Iteration 2). 

They will be holding an engagement period between Monday 29 January 2018 and Thursday 29 March 2018  which will provide the ideal opportunity for stakeholders to check progress towards the development of the plans. The engagement will include workshops in each of the four marine plan areas supported by online engagement which will focus on:

1) Marine plan area visions

2) Draft options to address issues in each marine plan area

3) Next steps in marine planning

For any member who is interested in attending a workshop, they will be held on the following dates:

North West marine plan area

  • Whitehaven: Wednesday 7 February 2018
  • Liverpool: Thursday 8 February 2018

South East marine plan area

  • Chatham: Wednesday 21 February 2018
  • London: Thursday 22 February 2018

South West marine plan area

  • Newquay: Tuesday 6 March 2018
  • Plymouth: Wednesday 7 March 2018
  • Weston-Super-Mare: Thursday 8 March 2018

North East marine plan area

  • Berwick-upon-Tweed: Tuesday 20 March 2018
  • Newcastle: Wednesday 21 March 2018
  • Middlesbrough: Thursday 22 March 2018

Further details on how to book attendence at these events will follow in early January 2018.

The Chamber will be fully engaging with the MMO during the entire process to ensure that the importance of shipping is taken into close consideration during all stages of the development of the various plans.

Members are also invited to follow the below link if they wish to subscribe for marine planning updates from the MMO if they wish to receive information on further  engagement events:

For any further information, please contact: